Calculating ERA-Interim monthly total precipitation on single levels

Good day

I have a question about ERA-Interim's "Monthly Means of Daily Forecast Accumulations". I am looking for the total precipitation for each month, based on a 24 hour forecast. My question is: which "time step" do I need to download? Is it the 0-12 or is it the 12-24? I thought I would need both and then sum them for each month, but those totals seem too high.

I am aware I need to multiply by 1000 and then by the number of days per month to get it in mm/month, but would appreciate guidance on the correct data to download for a monthly total. I am new to working with ERA data.

Thank you in advance.

Hi,

please have a look at the last row of the table at the following link:

Conversion table for accumulated variables (total precipitation/fluxes) - Hydrological parameter table

Thanks

Michela

Hi Michela Giusti

I did look at that table and it was based off it that I decided to choose both the 0-12 and 12-24 steps and then sum them for each month. However, as mentioned, the values seem too high. So I am wondering if my interpretation to sum the two values for each month is incorrect? Should they be averaged or do I only need one of the time steps?

Many thanks

Jessica

Hi,

as shown in the table, the data from time step labelled 12 has to be selected from reference time 00UTC and added to the data from time step labelled 12 selected from reference time 12UTC ; the sum of these will then contain the accumulated total precipitation over the 24 hours for that day. By repeating this process for all days in a month and then adding all the values of each day of the month, you will get the monthly total in metres. To get the monthly total in mm, you just need to multiply this value by 1000.

Thanks

Michela

Hi Michela Giusti